Nutshell Integration with PandaDoc

Focus:  The focus of this self-help article is to provide the steps and information necessary to integrate Nutshell with PandaDoc.

What does this Integration do? This integration will allow you to create, send, and track quotes, proposals, and contracts from within Nutshell. You will be able to start the document creation process from Leads, Contacts and Organization objects from Nutshell. Lead records with all of your custom fields and contact information, product info as well as pricing details, will flow into your documents seamlessly.

Before you get started, however, please make sure that you have a PandaDoc account (Don’t have one yet? Start 14-day free trial!) and you’ve installed the PandaDoc Chrome extension for Nutshell (currently this integration is only available for Chrome browser users).

Step 1: Login to your Nutshell account and access the PandaDoc panel

To access the PandaDoc panel, open any deal or organization record. If you see a screen like this, please click “connect” and login to your PandaDoc account.

Nutshell - Step 1
Once you’re connected, you will see a list of related documents to a Leads, Contacts and Organization object, if applicable.

Nutshell - Step 2

Step 2: Setup of PandaDoc Templates to be used with Nutshell.  Next, we need to setup our templates and how we want to pull in data from Nutshell.   In the following sections, we will discuss the setup of “Roles” and “Tokens”.

Step 2-A: Use of PandaDoc Roles and templates to import Contact information. With the use of PandaDoc Roles, we can import from Nutshell Deal object, contact information. The following information: First Name, Last Name, Email Address and Company. Click here for more details about how to use PandaDoc Roles.

Step 2-B: Setup your tokens to pre-populate your documents with deal data.

Tokens are very helpful timesavers that will auto-fill information from a deal, contact or an organization record into a document. Learn more about tokens here.

To view all of the available data that you can push from a Lead, Contact and Organization object record via tokens to a document, click on the gear icon -> “Tokens” tab.

Nutshell - Step 3

Let’s say you want to pre-populate your standard proposal template with the following data from a Nutshell deal: example… “Company Name” and “Lead Name”.

Nutshell - Step 4

To do so, first go to PandaDoc and open your template. Then copy and paste token IDs from the PandaDoc panel within Nutshell into your template. The most important thing is to place them into square brackets. This is what differentiates them from regular text.

From now on every document that you create from a deal within Nutshell — using this template — will be prefilled with the Company name and Lead name.

Step 2-B: Example list of tokens that can be used from Nutshell:

Nutshell Lead FieldsPandaDoc Token to Use
Deal Name[]
Deal Amount[lead.value]
Deal Status[lead.status]
Deal Creator[lead.creator]
Deal Description[lead.description]
Example of Nutshell Custom Field OS Version[lead.os_version]
Nutshell Company FieldsPandaDoc Token to Use
Company Name[]
Company Address[company.address] [company.full_address]
Company City[]
Company State[company.state]
Company Postal Code[company.postal_code]
Company Country[]
Company Description[company.description]
Company Email[]
Company Phone[]
Company Industry[company.industry]
Company URL[company.url]
Custom Field Example: Number of Employees[company.number_of_employees]
Nutshell Contact FieldsPandaDoc Token to Use
Contact First Name[contact.first_name]
Contact Last Name[contact.last_name]
Contact Title[contact.job_title]
Contact Email[]
Contact Phone Number[]
Contact Address[contact.address] [contact.full_address]
Contact State[]
Contact City[contact.state]
Contact Postal Code[contact.postal_code]
Contact Country[]
Contact Description[contact.description]

Step 3: Pre-populate your documents with product and pricing details from within a Nutshell deal.

Open the PandaDoc web app and edit your template. All that is required is that you add a pricing block and enable the “Automatically add products to this table” feature. This will pull in the Nutshell Product information and including custom fields you added to the Nutshell product.

Now every document created from a Nutshell deal will have all of the products, quantity, and pricing information from that particular deal.

Step 4: Tracking your documents in Nutshell. Once you have created a document from the object item In Nutshell, you can always revisit the document by accessing it through the PandaDoc module. Example shown below:

Nutshell - Tracking documents

Have questions? For faster support please:

  1. Log in to PandaDoc
  2. Then click on the help button
  3. Choose Contact Support option

Or feel free to contact us using our public form:

Contact Support