Alaska Room Rental Agreement

Renting a room in Alaska can be easier and more difficult than leasing an apartment or property. Use our Alaska Room Rental Agreement template when leasing a single room. It differs from a roommate agreement, which is generally an informal contract between roommates. Instead, this agreement is typically between the landlord of the unit and a tenant who wants to rent one of the rooms in the unit.

No credit card required

Alaska Room Rental Agreement

Renting out a room means you need an Alaska business license. Since you’re collecting income, you must hold a business license to rent your room. However, that’s not the only thing you must consider. You must explore and include multiple legal elements when drafting such an agreement. A court of law can consider this agreement invalid without these terms and clauses.

Access to the Room

  • There are no specific laws surrounding single-room leases. As such, lessees should carefully read the rental agreement to see what they have access to.
  • Landlords can lease a room and allow the tenants access to common areas in the house. However, it’s best to state what they can access in the contract.
  • Once the lease starts, the room the tenant is leasing is considered their space. The landlord has no right to access it without the tenant’s consent and written notice. The landlord must provide at least a 24-hour written notice period and enter at a reasonable time of day.

Guest & Pets Policy

  • The guest and pet policies are entirely up to the landlord’s discretion. Add clear policies for both instances to protect your property.
  • Typically, a guest policy will limit how long the guest may stay and what areas of the house they’re allowed access to.
  • If pets are allowed, there will generally be a pet deposit fee and limitations on what parts of the property they can access. Many lessors also add rules and regulations, such as pet behavior guidelines, hygiene regulations, and what types of pets are acceptable.

Security Deposit Regulations

  • The security deposit cannot be more than two months’ rent. The only exception is if two month’s rent surpasses $2,000, then it’s limited to a maximum of $2,000.
  • The landlord has up to 30 days to return the security deposit once the lease ends. However, if the tenant sends their forwarding address and a formal notice of terminating the lease, then the lessor must return the security deposit within 14 days of receiving the notice.