Idaho Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

Idaho is a landlord-friendly state, as there aren’t many laws and restrictions lessors have to follow. However, that doesn’t mean there are none. We’ll examine the legally required disclosures and the legal aspects of this Idaho month-to-month lease agreement.

No credit card required

Idaho Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

While there aren’t many, there are some laws landlords should be aware of. Not adding these laws to your lease can mean it becomes void in the eyes of the law. Below, we discuss the most prevalent ones in Idaho.

Lease Termination & Renewal 

  • Landlords and tenants must give at least one month’s or 30 days’ notice for terminations. A written notice must inform the other Party of their intent to terminate the agreement. 
  • Renewals have no notification period since this lease continues indefinitely until a Party sends a notice of termination.

Rent Increases 

  • Landlords are only required to give a 15-day notice if they’re increasing the rent. 
  • The notice must be in writing, and the tenant can pay it or move out in that period. Further, there’s no limit on how much the landlord can increase the rent.
  • The tenant can’t receive an unreasonable rent increase. There’s a law that states no person can engage in unconscionable conduct, which means lessors can’t increase the rent by a ridiculous amount.

Security Deposit

  • Security deposits cannot be higher than one month’s rent. 
  • The landlord must return it within 21 days of the lease’s termination. If the lessor makes deductions from the security deposit, they must provide the lessee with an itemized list of deductions. 
  • The landlord must store the security deposit in an interest-bearing account specifically for the deposit. Tenants have a right to the accrued interest. The lessor must also notify the tenant of where the security deposit is stored within 30 days of receiving it.

Tenant Rights 

  • Lessees have a right to live in a rental unit that satisfies all the local housing requirements. If any damages or issues can materially affect their safety and health, they can request repairs from the landlord. 
  • Provided the tenant isn’t the cause of the damage, the lessor must repair or fix the issue within a three-day notice. If the lessor doesn’t fix the problem within the required timeframe, then the lessee can resolve it using alternative methods.

Required Disclosures 

Unlike many other states, Idaho doesn’t have many legal disclosures. This is one of the reasons why this state is landlord-friendly since there aren’t many restrictions. In fact, there’s only one federal disclosure, which is the one that all states must add to their leases:

  • Lead-Based Paint Disclosure: Any houses or buildings built before 1978 might have lead-based paint. The landlord must add a disclosure on its possible presence and hazards. Further, the landlord must also provide an informational pamphlet that describes the potential risks in detail.