Michigan Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

Landlords in this state have six disclosures they must add to a Michigan month-to-month lease agreement, along with other legal terms. We explore these legal aspects and see what the laws say. This state is generally landlord-friendly, but it’s also pretty beneficial for the tenants.

No credit card required

Michigan Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

Lease Termination & Renewal 

  • Landlords and tenants can terminate the lease by sending one month’s notice (30 days in most cases). 
  • It must be a written notice, but the landlord can’t end the agreement due to retaliation. 
  • No renewal terms are necessary, as the lease will only stop once the lessee or lessor terminates it.

Rent Increases 

  • There are no statutes or rent control laws in Michigan. As such, there isn’t a maximum limit on how much the lessor can increase the rent. 
  • There’s also no law stating the notice landlords must give, but usually, they default to 30 days advance notice.

Security Deposit

  • Security deposits can’t be more than 1.5x the monthly rent in this state. 
  • Landlords should add the security deposit information to the lease. However, if they don’t add it, they only have 14 days from when the tenant moved in to ask for it. 
  • The lessor must also include an easily visible notice that states the lessee has four days to provide a forwarding address to which they return the security deposit. 
  • Landlords must refund the deposit within 30 days and provide an itemized list of deductions.

Tenant Rights 

  • The tenant is entitled to a habitable and safe rental unit. If any damages or issues in the unit prevent it from being livable, they can request the lessor repair it. 
  • If the lessor doesn’t fix it within a reasonable timeframe, the lessee can seek legal advice or resolve it using their rent.

Required Disclosures 

Landlords should know all of the below disclosures, as the lease might become null and void if they don’t add them:

  • Address for Notice: The lessor must provide the name and address of the person who can accept notices for this unit. 
  • Domestic Violence Victims: If tenants are the victims of domestic abuse, then they can be relieved of their obligation to pay rent. However, it’s only valid if they have certified proof of their domestic violence victim status.
  • Truth in Renting Act: This disclosure explains that landlords must comply with the Truth in Renting Act. It must also include the general rights of tenants.
  • Inventory Checklist: The lessor must give the lessee two copies of a Move-in Checklist. 
  • Security Deposit Notice: Landlords must provide the tenant with a receipt explaining where they keep the security deposit.
  • Lead-Based Paint Disclosure: This federal disclosure states that landlords must notify tenants if a building is older than 1978. These buildings might have lead-based paint, and the lessor must also communicate its possible hazards.