Vermont Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

Landlords who draw up a Vermont month-to-month lease agreement must educate themselves on the laws surrounding it. Landlord-tenant laws define everything from the statutory notice periods to the lessee’s rights. We discuss these laws below so that you can be sure you added all the requirements to the contract.

No credit card required

Vermont Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

Whether you have a written or oral agreement, there are specific laws you must adhere to. Using a written template helps you better remember what legal aspects you should include in a lease.

Lease Termination & Renewal 

  • When a tenant starts a lease, they and the landlord only have to give 60 days’ termination notice for as long as the tenant stays there for less than two (2) years.
  • As soon as the tenant has stayed in the rental unit for over two (2) years, the parties must provide 90 days’ notice to terminate.
  • If the lessee is in a shared occupancy agreement with monthly rent, then the parties only need to provide 15 days’ notice when ending the lease.
  • This contract automatically renews each month until the tenant or landlord ends it.

Rent Increases

  • While Vermont has no rent control laws, local governments can implement rent control laws.
  • Lessors can raise the rent at any time and by any amount, provided they give the legally required notice.
  • All landlords must provide 60 days’ notice when they increase the rent. However, some governments, like Burlington, lengthen this notice period, in this case, to 90 days.
  • So far, there’s no limit to how much the lessor can increase the rent.

Security Deposit 

  • Landlords can only request up to one month’s rent as the security deposit.
  • If the security deposit exceeds $500, then lessors must bear 7% annual interest. This interest is payable to the tenant annually, while the interest compounds quarterly.
  • Tenants are entitled to a written receipt telling them the lessor received their deposit and where they keep it.
  • After the lease ends, the lessor has 14 days to return the security deposit and an itemized deduction statement.

Tenant Rights 

  • Tenants can request repairs for the rental unit, provided they’re not the cause of the damages.
  • Should the landlord not complete these repairs within 30 days, the lessee can complete the repairs using up to half of the following month’s rent.
  • Lessees are entitled to at least 48 hours’ notice of entry from the landlord to enter the rental unit.
  • If the building is older than 1978, tenants are entitled to ask to conduct EMPs. This procedure minimizes the risks of lead poisoning.

Required Disclosures 

Vermont is very relaxed when it comes to disclosures. In fact, this state only has one disclosure you must add to the contract, and it’s the federal one:

  • Lead-Based Paint Disclosure: Should the building be older than 1978, the landlord must inform the lessee of the presence of lead-based paint. They must also inform them of the risks of lead poisoning.