Louisiana Commercial Lease Agreement

A Louisiana commercial lease agreement is a document used when a business wants to rent a commercial property from a lessor for a specific period to run its daily operations. This agreement outlines the lease terms and conditions. Once both parties sign the agreement, it becomes a legally binding contract that can be enforced in a court of law in Louisiana if any lease violations occur.

No credit card required

Louisiana Commercial Lease Agreement

Our free downloadable Louisiana Commercial Lease Agreement template ensures you adhere to state laws.

Security Deposit Limits and Handling

  • Landlords usually require tenants to pay a security deposit before signing a lease for commercial property in Louisiana.
  • This deposit acts as a safeguard for the landlord in case the tenant damages the property or fails to pay rent.
  • The specifics of the security deposit are typically outlined in the lease, but they’re also subject to state and local laws. 
  • Louisiana commercial landlords can require unlimited security deposits to hold them in interest-bearing accounts but aren’t required to pay tenants any interest on their deposits.

Right of Entry for Inspections and Repairs

  • Louisiana has no specific “Right to Entry” laws that require landlords to provide written notice before entering their rental property. 
  • However, most landlords in Louisiana typically agree with their tenants on the terms and circumstances under which they can enter the property, including notification policies and other related matters.

Environmental Responsibilities

  • A Tenant cannot use demised premises for hazardous or toxic activity and must comply with Louisiana’s environmental laws.
  • The landlord can inspect and test the premises and enter to remedy contamination caused by the tenant.
  • The tenant is responsible for paying for any testing if hazardous materials are stored or used on the premises.
  • The tenant must provide information on hazardous materials on the premises when asked.

Notice Requirements

  • Louisiana landlords aren’t required to give any notice before increasing rent, allowing them to do so at any time.
  • A Louisiana landlord must provide written notice before changing the property’s locks. If the landlord fails to provide written notice, it may be considered retaliatory behavior and could result in a lawsuit according to state laws.
  • Louisiana state laws don’t require tenants to provide specific details when changing locks for repairs or added security. However, it’s recommended that they inform their landlords beforehand.
  • A tenant with a fixed-term lease isn’t obligated to provide written notice before ending a Louisiana lease. However, landlords have different notice requirements depending on the type of lease they offer for their property.
    • Monthly Lease – 10-day notice.
    • Quarterly Lease – No statute is available at the moment.
    • Yearly Lease – 30-day notice.

Include Required Disclosures

  • Landlords of commercial properties constructed before 1978 in Louisiana must provide tenants with a lead paint disclosure statement.
  • The landlord must include a breakdown of the utility expenses for which the tenant will be responsible, such as water, trash, sewage, phone, and internet services.