Colorado Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

A Colorado month-to-month lease creates a tenancy at will that can be canceled with a statutory notice. The landlord prioritizes long-term tenants, with a maximum three-month notice for tenancies lasting one year or more.

No credit card required

Colorado Month-to-Month Lease Agreement

Access our free Colorado month-to-month lease agreement template to ensure it adheres to the state laws.

Month-to-Month Leases in Colorado

A Colorado lease agreement is a contract between a landlord and tenant, documenting the terms and conditions of renting a property. This agreement provides an overview of key elements, types, legal requirements, and common mistakes to avoid.

Lease Termination and Renewal

  • In Colorado, the notice required to end a month-to-month lease depends on the tenant’s length of stay, not the rental payment period. The notice required can be 21, 28, or 91 days.
  • In Colorado, tenants can be evicted for violating a month-to-month lease or overstaying after a valid termination notice. Evictions typically take two to four weeks.

Rent Increases

  • Landlords in Colorado cannot raise rent more than once a year, even without a lease.
  • A Colorado lease should clearly state when and how notices will be received about rent increases. It may serve as a notice of the change in rent at a certain point in the future.
  • Colorado’s state legislature has prohibited cities from implementing rent control. Thus, there are no restrictions on how much a landlord can raise the rent.

Security Deposit

  • If your landlord has valid charges that are lower than your deposit. In that case, you should receive a refund for the remaining amount.
  • If you have not caused any damage and have paid all rent and utilities, you should receive your full deposit back.
  • Your landlord has 30 days (or up to 60 days if specified in the lease) to return your security deposit or provide a specific list of deductions. 
  • You must receive either the deposit or the list within this time.

Tenant Rights

  • A landlord has a legal obligation to provide quiet enjoyment to tenants, ensuring that they can live peacefully in their rented property.
  • The tenant must be given advance notice before the landlord can enter the premises. They also cannot interfere with the tenant’s daily life.
  • If the tenant reports a habitability breach, the landlord must fix it within five days. If not, the tenant can terminate the lease by leaving the property 10-30 days after notice.

Required Disclosures

As a landlord, you must provide written disclosures to comply with federal and state laws and Colorado lease agreements. These disclosures inform tenants of their lease rights and terms. They are typically included in the lease or as a separate notice and must be in writing.

  • Lead-based paint disclosure 
  • Bedbug disclosure 
  • Marijuana disclosure 
  • Radon gas disclosure (possible risks)
  • If the local ordinances demand it, a crime-free addendum can be incorporated.